Thanksgiving…

26 Nov

Was great!  We had a terrific time in Sacramento.  On our way up, we were able to stop off at a Wendy’s in Santa Nella off of the 5, and give hugs and kisses to my sister and brother-in-law who were on their way down to the OC to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family.

As you saw in a previous post, the weather was just dreamy.  Brandon and I love the cool, crisp, breezy weather that Sacramento tends to offer us at Thanksgiving time.  Spending time with his family was fun too.  His grandma is suffering with Alzheimer’s, but fortunately has the great sense of humor that she always had to help laugh off the awkward and forgetful moments that come with the disease.  Two awesome moments I got to witness was one, she remembered her husband and told him what a great husband he was to her.  And two, we always end up singing old hymns at the end of the evening, and she was able to sing every word right along with us.  AMAZING to me!

Friday, I typically wake up early to go shopping with my mother-in-law.  Unfortunately, this year, I had a touch of something, and my tummy was not happy.  We decided to get some sleep and shop another time.  Kind of a bummer, but it was nice to get an earlier start on our drive home.  Friday was Esther’s birthday.  I decorated the car for her 6 hour car ride.  We got a disappointing 12 honks considering we were on the 5, grapevine, and LA freeways for a good 6 hours.  It was still exciting and fun.  Saturday, we celebrated her birthday with family at my parents’ house and got to get in a good visit with my sister and brother-in-law from Sacramento.

Today was a really neat day as well.  After church, we got to head over to our new building and write verses on the auditorium floor before the carpet gets laid tomorrow.  It was really neat to see the excitement of the people who were writing biblical truths, meaningful or favorite verses in purposeful places on the floor.  It was very special and will forever be a great memory for me and my girls.

Tomorrow we get to celebrate Esther’s birthday in her class.  I’m slowly trying to get rid of Reflections and return them to their owners, and the winners get sent to the next level tomorrow as well.  It’s also gonna be a busy catch-up week at the gym for me  (and Jenny).  🙂  I must weigh in on Thursday.  Updates to come – I’m sure!

Must go watch Amazing Race now.

Check out this link to see the pictures from our Thanksgiving and birthday extravaganza.

http://new.photos.yahoo.com/cashfamily97/album/576460762352449344        

Leave a comment